88.1 F
Friday, June 21, 2024

June 28, 2022 Primary Election – Unofficial List of Candidates


Get to know all candidates before heading to the Primary Election on Tues., June 28, 2022

This unofficial list of candidates running to serve Naperville in DuPage County, Will County, Springfield and Washington, D.C., may be incomplete. One of the main purposes of this list is to distinguish the most competitive primary races. Any omissions or misspellings are regretted.

Incumbents are not identified in the hope voters will seek information on all candidates before heading to the Primary to elect a chosen party’s candidates for the General Election on Tues., Nov. 8. Educated voters are most important. Take advantage of local meet and greet events. Knowledge with facts about the candidates likely will help voters resist the unending barrage of polling data and attack ads that aim to influence the electorate.

Illinois is an open primary state, which means that voters are not required to register with a party to participate. 

During the Primary Election voters can only pick nominees from only one political party listed on a party ballot. Voters who participated in a previous primary can select the same or a different party ballot in this primary and any subsequent primary election.

In other words—and to help make it absolutely clear regarding Illinois’ primary elections— voters can only select either a Democratic ballot or a Republican ballot, not both, in the Primary Election on June 28, 2022.

The General Election (Nov. 8, 2022) is when voters can cross over party lines to select different candidates all listed on the ballot.

Though early in-person voting began June 13, 2022, this publication promotes voting as close to Election Day as possible to be sure all candidates remain on the ballot.

We also urge voters to represent “We the people” with educated votes for candidates in the Primary that will seek solutions to many of the challenges we face today.

Primary Election Day hours are 6AM to 7PM Tues., June 28.

Elected offices included are for County Board, State Legislature, State Senate, U.S. Senate and U.S. Congress. Again, incumbents are not identified as such. Kindly get to know all candidates who serve as elected officials currently.

Registered voters are urged to consider all those choices on the ballot. To us, liberty, justice and patriotism matters, and independent thinking with ideas for common-sense solutions are sought at every level for effective limited government that advances peace and public safety in our community while promoting a high quality of life for all freedom-loving individuals.

For now, simply become familiar with the Primary candidates by party, listed in no particular order, who want to serve Naperville. Thank you.

Unofficial Candidate List

Democratic (D) Libertarian (L) Republican (R)

Washington, D.C.

U.S. Senate
Tammy Duckworth (D)
Bill Redpath (L)
Peggy Hubbard (R) or Casey Chlebek (R) or Maryann Mahlen (R) or Bobby Piton (R) or Jimmy Lee Tillman II (R) or Anthony Williams (R) or Kathy Salvi (R) or Matt Dubiel (R)

U.S. House of Representatives

14th District
Lauren Underwood (D)
Scott Gryder (R) or Mike Koolidge (R) or Jack Lombardi II (R) or James Marter (R) or Jaime Milton (R) or Susan Starrett (R)

11th District
Bill Foster (D)
Mark Carroll (R) or Jerry Evans (R) or Susan Hathaway-Altman (R) or Andrea Heeg (R) or Catalina Laug (R) or Juan Ramos (R) or Cassandra Tanner Miller (R)

6th District
Sean Casten (D) or Marie Newman (D) or Charles Hughes (D)
Niki Conforti (R) or Rob Cruz (R) or Gary Grasso (R) or Scott Kasper (R) or Catherine A. O’Shea (R) or Keith Pekau (R)


Illinois Governor
J.B. Pritzker (D) or Beverly Miles (D)
Richard Irvin (R) or Paul Schimpf (R) or Gary Rabine (R) or Darren Bailey (R) or Jesse Reising (R) or Jesse Sullivan (R).

Illinois Lt. Gov.
Juliana Stratton (D) or Karla Shaw (D)
Avery Bourne (R) or Latisha Fields (R) or Kathleen Murphy (R) or Aaron Del Mar (R) or Carolyn Shofield or Stephanie Trussell

Illinois Secretary of State
David Moore (D) or Anna Valencia (D) or Alexi Giannoulias (D) or Sidney Moore (D)
Dan Brady (R) or John Milhiser (R) or Michelle Turney (R)

Illinois Attorney General
Kwame Raoul (D)
David Shestokas (R) or Steve Kim (R) or Tom DeVore (R)

Illinois Comptroller
Susana Mendoza (D)
Shannon Teresi (R) or Michael Kinney (R)

Illinois Treasurer
Mike Frerichs (D)
Tom Demmer (R) or Patrice McDermand (R)

Illinois Senate District 21
Laura Ellman (D)
Kathleen Murray (R)

Illinois Senate District 41
No Candidate (D)
John Curran (R)

Illinois Senate District 42
Linda Holmes (D)
Doug Santucci (R)

Illinois State Rep. District 41
Janet Yang Rohr (D)
Jennifer Taylor (R)

Illinois State Rep. District 84
Stephanie Kifowit (D)
Joe West (R)

Illinois State Rep. District 81
Anne Stave-Murray (D)
Paul Leong (R)

DuPage County

DuPage County Board Chairman
Deb Conroy (D)
Greg Hart (R) or Peter “Pete” DiCianni (R)

DuPage County Sheriff
(D) No Candidate
James Mendrick (R)

DuPage County Clerk
Jean Kaczmarek (D)
Evelyn Sanguinetti (R)

DuPage County Treasurer
Don Potoczny (D)
Gwen Henry (R)

DuPage County Board District 5 (Vote for not more than 3)
Dawn DeSart (D) Sadia Covert (D) Amy Chavez (D)
Richard A. Janor (R) Patricia “Patty” Gustin (R) Janice Marie Anderson (R)

DuPage Forest Preserve President
Daniel Hebreard (D)
Robert J. Schillerstrom (R)

Forest Preserve District 5
Barbara A. O’Meara (D)
Elizabeth J. Folk Van Arsdell (R)

18th Judicial Court DuPage (Kleeman)
Mia McPherson (D)
Kavita Athanikar  (R)

18th Judicial Court DuPage (Mallen)
Jill Otte (D)
Michael “Mike” W. Reidy (R) 

3rd Supreme Court DuPage (Kilbride)
Mary K. O’Brien (D)
Michael J. Burke (R)

3rd Appellate Court DuPage (Wright)
James A. Murphy (D) or Sonni Choi Williams (D) 
Liam Christopher Brennan (R)

Find Voter Information for DuPage County with a CLICK HERE.

Will County

Will County Board District 10 (Vote no more than 2)

Meta Mueller (D), Khadija “D.J.” Sufi (D)
Julie Berkowicz (R), Vasavi Chakka (R)

Will County Clerk
Lauren Staley Ferry (D)
Gretchen Fritz (R)

Will County Sheriff
Mike Kelley (D)
Jim Reilly (R)

Will County Treasurer
Tim Brophy (D)
Raj “PI” Pillai (R)

Regional Superintendent of Schools
Shawn Walsh (D)
Elizabeth Caparelli (R)

Find Voter Information for Will County with a CLICK HERE.

Thank you for reporting any errors or omissions in this post to ideas@positivelynaperville.com.

Thanks also for being an informed voter. Here’s to many happy returns.

Save the date for the General Election, Tues., Nov. 8, 2022.

DuPage County’s Early Voting sites open June 13, 2022

  • Fox Valley Mall, 195 Fox Valley Center, Aurora, Entrance 1
  • Islamic Center of Naperville, 25W530 75th St, Naperville, Youth Lounge
  • Naperville Municipal Center, 400 S Eagle St, Naperville, Meeting Rooms A&B

According to the County Clerk, nine Early Voting sites are open seven days a week until Mon., June 27. Specific hours can be found at www.dupagecounty.gov/Election/Voting.

Will County Early Voting sites open June 13, 2022

ŸWill County Clerk’s Office

95th Street Library (Click here for info)

City of Naperville (Click here for info)

Post Last Updated on June 19, 2022, to reflect Early In-person Voting is now in progress.

- Advertisement -
PN Ombudsman
PN Ombudsman
An ombudsman is Scandinavian in origin dating back to Viking times; and refers to a community representative; usually acting independently on behalf of an organization, body of elected officials, or civic group. Thanks Scandinavia for inventing ombudsman.