86.4 F
Friday, June 24, 2022

Fort Payne NSDAR holds annual awards ceremony


In April, Fort Payne Chapter NSDAR held its annual awards ceremony, recognizing recipients from area middle schools and high schools as DAR Good Citizens; and awarding three scholarships to graduating seniors seeking careers in education and math, science, and technology. A fourth scholarship was awarded in memory of the late Bettye Wehrli.

Lauren Busche, an 8th grader from Ss. Peter and Paul School, is the chapter winner for the American History Essay contest. Emma Breese, 8th grade, Kennedy Junior High School; Oliver Malley, 7th grade, Malley Academy; and Tyler Breese, 5th grade, Ranchview School, were recognized for their outstanding work in American History.

According to DAR member Sarah Dore, approximately 65 students participated in this annual contest. The American History Essay contest is a national contest sponsored by the NSDAR. This year’s theme was “The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier ~ 100th Anniversary.”

The Fort Payne NSDAR Education Scholarship award in the amount of $1,000 went to Noelle Coderre from Naperville North High School. Coderre plans to pursue a degree in special education and agriculture education.

Alopi Shah and Kylie Taczynski, both seniors at Metea Valley High School, are recipients of the Daniel Webster Scholarship, The $1,000 scholarship recognizes students wishing to pursue careers in science, math and technology.

Faculty at their respective high schools selects the DAR Good Citizen Awards. To receive this award, high school seniors must demonstrate qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism in their homes, schools and communities. This year’s honorees include Amara Saleem and Nikunj Tyagi, both from Metea Valley High School; Bradford Kuta, Naperville Central; Lucy Westlake, Naperville North, and Matthew Ligeski Neuqua Valley. Tyagi and Westlake were honored chapter winners. Westlake was named overall chapter winner and District IV winner of the Illinois State NSDAR.

In memory of Bettye Wehrli, a long-time member of the Fort Payne NSDAR Chapter, Edward Chen, a senior at Waubonsie Valley High School, was the recipient of the Bettye Weber Wehrli Memorial Scholarship, an award of $2,000 from her estate. Chen’s winning essay discussed the importance of the U.S. Constitution, one of Wehrli’s passions. Chen plans to attend the University of Florida and major in finance.

This year’s Outstanding Teacher in American History was awarded to Jeremiah Chaney, a history teacher at Lincoln Junior High School. Chaney also recognized as the “Illinois State Outstanding Teacher in American History,” awarded on April 23, 2022, at the NSDAR Illinois State Conference in Bloomington, IL.

The 2022 community service award recipient went to Teresa Ryan, an outstanding philanthropist in Naperville. Ryan has supported over 80 agencies and charities worldwide. “Her ‘give-back’ spirit is widely acknowledged and appreciated in Naperville,” Dore added.

“Fort Payne wishes to congratulate all our winners and recipients,” Dore continued. “These people represent the very best of Naperville, Aurora, Lisle and surrounding communities.”
To learn more about today’s National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, founded in 1890, visit www.DAR.org.

Get the Daily Square-Scoop

The latest local news and headlines delivered to your inbox.

PN Ombudsman
PN Ombudsman
An ombudsman is Scandinavian in origin dating back to Viking times; and refers to a community representative; usually acting independently on behalf of an organization, body of elected officials, or civic group. Thanks Scandinavia for inventing ombudsman.

Latest News

DuPage County 2022 Primary Election turnout strong so far…

Above / The DuPage County Clerk's Office reports DuPage County 2022 Midterm Primary Election is running strong so far, with Early Voting surpassing 2018...
The latest local headlines delivered
to your inbox each morning.
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.